Holly Hill Farm History
Farmed since the early 17th century when the it’s salt marsh was a source of grazing and hay for our earliest settlers, the Farm has been in the White family for five generations. In 1998 Frank and Jean White moved back to Cohasset and restarted the Farm as a commercial venture. 2000 marks the year the Farm was first certified organic.
In the 18th & first part of the 19th century it was a typical homestead. When farming declined in the East in the 1840′s, the property became a summer residence for Bostonians; farming was limited to orchards, garden plots, hay fields and pasture for a small herd of dairy cows. In the 1930′s & 40′s it became the base for a substantial ‘truck’ farm of 100 acres most of which were off-site. After World War II the land was home to a saw mill operation. Two post and beam barns that date back to 1785, and a classic pole beam barn built in the Civil War era still stand as reminders of the past.
More information on the Farm’s history can be found in the annotated Trail Guide on sale for $3 in the vestibule outside the Friends of Holly Hill Farm office, located down the lane to the left of the Main Barn.